top of page

The Great Outdoors

Updated: Sep 15, 2020

In the great outdoors,

When in tune with nature, my soul soars.

There are not any floors.

There are not any stores.


So peaceful and quiet,

I love to remove myself from the riot.


The calm comes after the storm and its beauty could hardly be expressed in words.

I have always been curious and my favorite seat is and always was with the nerds.

My kind doesn't run in a herd.

I find crowded rooms absurd.


I saw a dragonfly today,

And I knew there was something it was trying to say.


It wasn't just one, but it was two,

It speaks of a life completely brand new.


This may not be something you have seen before,

But, because I am watching, I will see more.

And my life is seldom a bore.


I know you have heard me say this before,

But spending time in nature is a wonderful cure.


Its the most prescribed medicine on my list,

And to indulge in it, truly I insist..


Will you find your cure?

I can't honestly be sure.

But you may just find more!

You won't find this kind of peace at the store.


As the fog clears it looks like you maybe ready to see,

Until you under go the process, it may be hard to relate to me.


But once you do,

You will see my soul is kind, beautiful, pure and true.


As I admire the beauty of the calm water near by,

I don’t hold back if there are tears to cry.

and this place is right where I see my dreams fly.


Although it may seem like a paradox,

The great outdoors is where my soul unlocks.

The expansive space has no box.

I feel as light as the birds and as grounded as the rocks.


There are no feelings of judgement or lack,

So there is nothing to hold me back.

I can slow down and cut myself some slack.

I keep looking forward and never look back!





Written By: Angel Vaughan

8/24/2020




.


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page